30 April 2024

The Chartwell Trust New Commissions Announcement

Artspace Aotearoa is pleased to announce the exhibiting artists for the Chartwell Trust New Commissions programme 2024: Yana Dombrowsky-M’Baye, Dayle Palfreyman and August Ward.

Evolving out of the legacy of Artspace Aotearoa’s annual New Artists show, the New Commissions programme aims to foster long term support and engagement with emerging artists from Tāmaki Makaurau.

Yana Dombrowsky-M’Baye is an artist and educator based in Tāmaki Makaurau. Working across film, installation, and sculpture, Yana’s practice is a poetic inquiry into material temporalities.

Dayle Palfreyman works with sculpture and installation, primarily using metal and beeswax. Their work explores relationships between desire, repulsion, power and violence through materials that demarcate the gallery space.

August Ward is a painter who explores the signature of glamour in everyday life. Working primarily in oil and graphite painting, Ward depicts a world of department stores, housewives, and perfume counters.

This exhibition opens 19 October 2024.

Image in order: Yana Dombrowsky-M’Baye, Dayle Palfreyman, August Ward.